People, Places and Programs Making News on Campus

Susie Miller, a graduate of Minnesota State Mankato’s Recreation, Parks and Leisure Services program, was named one of the “11 Who Care” by the Twin Cities NBC television affiliate KARE. Miller was honored for her work with adaptive hockey in the state.

Fifty-eight donated acres of prairie and wetland will be the University’s first environmental research plot and one of just a few in the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system. The land on the northeast edge of Mankato was donated by Lime Valley Development Company and will be used by biology, civil engineering, geology and education students.

A $156,343 gift to MnSCU from the Charles and Ellora Alliss Educational Foundation will result in 200 scholarships in the 2011-12 academic year at Minnesota State Mankato. The scholarships range from $350 to $1,100 and are for full-time undergraduate students from Minnesota. They will be awarded annually at the University.

Anne E. Blackhurst was appointed provost and senior vice president for academic affairs at Minnesota State University, Moorhead. Blackhurst most recently served as acting vice president for academic and student affairs at Minnesota State Mankato. She had previously served four years as dean of graduate studies and research and 12 years as a counseling & student personnel faculty member and department chair.

Ed Clark was named the University’s vice president for technology and chief information officer. Clark, previously the chief information officer for the University of Minnesota’s College of Liberal Arts, was described by President Richard Davenport as “one of the state’s most forward-looking higher education IT leaders.”

Lindsey Botker was named director for special events and annual giving for Minnesota State Mankato Athletics. Botker will plan and oversee all major athletic fundraisers, manage and implement annual giving events and focus on donor relations. A 2000 graduate of Virginia Commonwealth University, Botker was a member of the 2002 U.S. Olympic national select handball team.

The Minnesota State Mankato handball team won its second consecutive U.S. Handball Association Combined Men’s and Women’s Division II championship and its first Men’s Division II championship at the Association’s 59th Collegiate National Championships in February.

David P. Jones was named associate vice president for student affairs and enrollment management. Jones had served as University of Alabama assistant vice president for student affairs and executive director for housing and residential communities.

Junior nursing student Michelle Deike was named the Dr. Donald and Marjorie Meredith Scholarship recipient for 2011-12. Deike is eligible to receive $3,000 each semester for the last three semesters of the program. Meredith Scholarships are intended to allow students to focus on studies without working at full- or part-time jobs.

Gordon L. “Gordy” Graham, who served as Minnesota State Mankato’s head athletic trainer from 1964 to 1993, received the 2011 Fred Zamberletti Aw ard from the Minnesota National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame. In 1969, Graham developed one of the first three athletic training education curricula in the country.

Biology professor Michael Bentley, geography professor Martin Mitchell and English professor Stephen Stoynoff were named 2011 Distinguished Faculty Scholars. The awards honor tenured professors who have distinguished themselves as outstanding scholars and whose work has earned national or international recognition.

New Deans: Vijendva (VJ) Argawal was named the new Dean of the College of Science, Engineering & Technology; Brenda Flannery was named the Dean of the College of Business; Kimberly greer was named the dean of the college of social and behavioral science; Becky Copper-glenz was named Dean of the college of extended learning; and Barry ries was named interim dean of the college of graduate studies and research.

Senior economics major Marcus Piepho was named the top Maverick Army ROTC cadet of 2011. As a result, he is one of 272 cadets from across the nation selected for the prestigious George C. Marshall Seminar in Lexington, Va. Piepho is a Mankato native.

History instructor and Honors Program Director Chris Corley was one of 10 professors selected nationally to attend the Palestinian American Research Center’s 12-day seminar on the West Bank. The visit, he said, creates opportunities for future University-oriented interaction in the area.